Building a Better Litter Box

May 30, 2013 at 10:01 pm | Posted in bunny, long island, pet, rabbit | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

In case some of you were wondering, this is the screen I made for my litter box. Below is a little description of what I did, but you can find others if you do a google search (that’s how I did mine).

da7af1d2-1229-4ddd-970b-7bb72cc630b3_400At Home Depot  I bought a $10 roll of 1/4 in. 23-Gauge Galvanized Hardware Cloth. It was 2 ft. x 5 ft. and I’ve already made 3 screens from the roll. My boxes are cat boxes, so the screens are around 14 in. x 10 in.

I had no idea what this was before people said they used it for litter box screens, but you can find it at most hardware stores apparently. At Home Depot it was in the gardening section.

I measured the bottom of the litter box (at the corners, because it bows in the middles)  for the dimensions.. It doesn’t seem to matter if it’s still an inch or 2 smaller than the box itself, still gets the job done.

IMG_8066-001

 

The cloth I bought I was able to cut with a scissor, but thicker stuff might need something a little stronger.I tried to cut the boxes as closes to the edge as possible to lessen the sharp bits. Definitely don’t want that for bunny feet.

 

 

fig070

After cutting, I folded the edges one row of boxes over and used a pair of pliers to flatten it. Then I cut a strip of duct tape in half and layered both strips on the edge. Repeat for all four sides, and voila!

It does tend to get pee on the edges (always where I go to grab it) but that rinses off easily.

 

 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This works great! Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

