Birthday Bun and Too Much Calcium

May 1, 2015 at 1:17 pm | Posted in rabbit | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Bella”

“Charlie”

“Misty

“Sweetie”

My Bella had her 7th birthday party yesterday. She ate all of her treats and barely had room for the banana chips on her cake (it’s not bacon!). After chowing down, she flopped down and took a long nap.

Earlier in the week, we noticed that my Charlie had some really dark colored urine. We took him to the vet and it turned out that he had bladder sludge. They flushed him out so he’s good now, but is pretty sleepy and annoyed with us for doing this to him. Apparently his body can’t tolerate as high amounts of calcium as his mate, Bella’s, can. I’m cutting out the veggies higher in calcium: dandelion, kale and parsley and removing alfalfa hay as a treat since it’s calcium rich too. Hopefully he won’t need this done again, and may even have better litter box habits now.

Downstairs, Misty is getting bolder on the couch. She climbed up a pillow to the back, but didn’t make it very far before sliding back down onto the seat. She keeps trying to hop onto the end table next to the couch, but so far she hasn’t been successful. I guess she’s just so desperate to get closer to my boys!

Sweetie Bun has been tugging at my pillow when I’m giving my laptop more attention than her. She’s quite a demanding little snuggler. I can type with one hand, but it’s kind of difficult to use the mouse with my left hand if she’s on my right side. “Bunnies have priority!”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

