Eye Gunk and Appetites

September 4, 2016 at 11:54 am | Posted in rabbit | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“Hershey”

“Charlie”

Even since I’ve had my Hershey, I occasionally noticed what I thought were bubbles on the sides of his eyeballs. Sometimes they would be there, sometimes not, so I thought they were on his third eyelid membrane. When there was a particularly larger one than I remembered on his left eye last night I looked into it, and apparently it’s eye slime due to a hair. No wonder they kept reappearing and disappearing! Dwarfs are prone to it and he’s shedding right now, so that makes sense. I think either he or Butterscotch usually cleans it, and by this morning it was gone. I know I get eye slime from allergies occasionally so I know how he feels. It doesn’t seem to bother him much though.

Last week my Charlie had a bout of stasis. Whereas my Butterscotch will stop eating completely, and recover after two or three hours and medication, Charlie just seems to lose his appetite for some foods and it tends to last a few days. This time it was three days until he was back to normal, but his temperature was never under 101. It’s the first time he’s had stasis since he and Piper were bonded so maybe her loving presence helped him out a little too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

