Temperature Taking Tantrums

April 21, 2017 at 2:26 pm | Posted in rabbit | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,
IMG_20170402_170344

“Butterscotch”

P1280879

“Piper & Charlie”

My Butterscotch had another bout of stasis on Tuesday, but is feeling better now. We had cleaned his room earlier in the day and think that may have caused it. Stress is a common cause of GI stasis, and changing out everything in his room could certainly be stressful for the little guy. He took a little longer to recover than usual, about 6 hours and still was not totally back to normal the next day. He got the usual course of Metacam, Simethicone and Reglan and continued to get a dose of Reglan twice a day for two after. Fortunately, he likes that well enough that I can just put some in a dish and he licks it right up.

Butterscotch’s temperature did get a little low so I put him in his carrier on a heating pad on low for an hour, and he stayed warm after. He is much more difficult to take a temperature with than my Charlie. He clenches down and fights the thermometer that I know I’m always getting a lower reading than I should be. I follow this guide, but some rabbits are more cooperative than others.

We clipped my Piper’s nail yesterday, and she is not happy about it. I also thought I should see if she would cooperate with temperature taking, in case we someday need to do that with her. Well, she was not having any of that! She fussed and kicked so much the two times that I tried that we gave up. I didn’t even have the thermometer in my hand, but my hand was enough to upset her. Baby steps, we’ll try again next nail clipping.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

